Okra beauty

Now that I started the blog, it seems even more subjects push themselves forward, to grab my attention. As if shouting from the crowd:”Choose me! Choose me, Wilma!” the inanimate objects around the house are fighting for their 15 minutes of fame, on my blog.

Ok then, fair enough, today I will show the beautiful disposition of okra. Last night I had some old friends over, and I wanted to make an effort with diner. I chose to cook ‘local’ which means ‘exotic’, as I am living in the eastern part of Amsterdam, where a rich blend of nationalities can be found including all necessary ingredients for their daily grub. I decided on an Indian vegetable dish with okra.

Apart form the dish, this is what I made.

okra stamps

pattern made with okra stamps

Cutting the stems I noticed this lovely shape inside: 5 seed tubes form 5 perfect circles, the leaves of the graphic flower. I used the stems as stamps and made this pattern. When later I googled ‘okra flower’ I was stunned again, as the actual flower looks like a perfect 3D model of the stamp: a perfect pentagon of petals, with the stamp in the center… absolutely dazzling design!

okra flower 2pat.wordpress.com

okra flower 2pat.wordpress.com

About Wilma Tichelaar

relentless hunter gatherer of soothing beauty, great and small
Image | This entry was posted in (B)OOST, Illustration, OUT OF THE BOX, Things I made and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Okra beauty

  1. Rosa Paula says:

    Hello Wilma! I found you at BYW and I really liked your blog. The stamp idea is so fun! Here in Brazil okra is very common (we call it quiabo). I had no idea we could find it in Europe!
    I’m already following you with bloglovin!
    Have a wonderful week!

    • Hi Rosa, thank you for sharing your enthusiasm, that is really good to know ,-) The okra by the way, I think is imported, from Brazil maybe?? Although we grow a lot of vegetable in glasshouses in Holland, it could be local… Since I found this ‘stamp’ I scrutinize everything I chop up in the kitchen haha

  2. juju333 says:

    Awesome idea. I like okra, I always thought of it as an American soul or south food. But the more I learn about food and it’s origins the more fascinating it becomes.

Leave a Reply

